✔ Apply for Online Nepal Tourist Visa: Apply Here

Visa Information

What are the Types of Nepal Visas?
The most common visa types which the Nepal government issues to foreign nationals are:

Nepal Tourist Visa, issued to all foreigners entering Nepal for tourism or leisure activities.
Nepal Business Visa, issued to foreigners entering the country for business or investment purposes
Nepal Transit Visa, issued to foreigners transiting in Nepal for a duration of 24 hours. They can get a transit visa on arrival.
Nepal Work Visa, which is issued by the Nepal Department of Immigration after the foreigner has already entered the country with a Tourist Visa and presented the necessary documents.
Nepal Relationship Visa, which is issued to foreign-born family members of Nepalese citizens by the Nepal Department of Immigration.
Nepal Student Visa, which is issued to foreign students who wish to pursue their studies or do research in Nepal or teachers who will be teaching in Nepal. International students need a recommendation from the Nepal Ministry of Education while teachers must have a recommendation from the relevant agency of the Nepal Government.

A Nepal  visa can be obtained for the following duration from the Nepal Embassy/ Consulate or Mission offices abroad


At the following immigration offices in Nepal:

Tribhuvan International Airport, Kathmandu

Kakarvitta, Jhapa (Eastern Nepal)

Birganj, Parsa (Central Nepal)

Kodari, Sindhupalchowk (Northern Border)

Rasuwa Gadi (kerung in Rasuwa district)

Belhiya, Bhairahawa (Rupandehi, Western Nepal)

Jamuna, Nepalgunj (Banke, Mid Western Nepal)

Mohana, Dhangadhi (Kailali, Far Western Nepal)

Gaddachauki, Mahendranagar (Kanchanpur, Far Western Nepal)

Tourist Visa

Please follow these simple procedures for Tourist Visa on Arrival at the airport (TIA)  if you have not acquired Visa prior to boarding the plane.

1st  Step

Fill in ' Arrival Card '

Fill in Online ‘Tourist Visa ‘form ( you can fill it up  prior to your arrival  visiting our official website  Department of Immigration / fill it up using Kiosk machines upon your arrival at the airport).  If you fill it from the website, you will get submission Receipt with barcode, please print it out and bring it along for acquiring visa. It works for fifteen days and becomes invalid then after.  If so, you will have to fill it up again.

2nd  Step  

Make payment  at the bank according to your visa requirement ( 15/30/90 Days)

Get the receipt

While you can use different modes of payments (at visa fees collection counter), we advise you to carry some cash to be on the safe side.

 On Arrival Visa Fee at Entry Points

 Visa Facility



Multiple entries

15 Days

US$ 30 or equivalent convertible currency

Multiple entries

30 Days

US$ 50 or equivalent convertible currency

Multiple entries

90 Days

US$ 115 or equivalent convertible currency

3rd Step  

Proceed to the Immigration Desk with your online form,  payment receipts and your passport

Hand in your documents to immigration officer for visa processing. He/she issues visa to you upon his/her satisfaction.

Visa Extension Fee 

Tourist visa extension is done for minimum 15 days with USD 45 and USD 3 per day for additional days.

In the case of delay less than 150 days additional USD 5 per day as late fine.

 Gratis Visa (Visa for Free)

Gratis Visa is issued free of cost in case of following categories of Visa applicants:

Children below 10 years except US citizens

Up to 30 days for SAARC Citizen (except Afghanistan) visiting Nepal for the first time in a given visa Year.  Afghan citizen are eligible for Gratis Visa on Arrival only upon the recommendation of Department of Immigration. If you are an Afghan citizen, you can request concerned institution inviting you to Nepal for necessary paperwork with Department of Immigration to get you Gratis Visa 'On Arrival'.

Non Residential Nepalese(NRN) card holder ( issued by MoFA /Nepalese diplomatic missions abroad)

Chinese Nationals

Officials from China, Brazil, Russia and Thailand do not need Entry Visa based on reciprocal visa waiver Agreement

Visas of all kinds including ‘Gratis’ issued at the Airport are Tourist Visas. Contact Department of Immigration for extending your visa or changing the category of your visa. Tourist Visa extension can be done from Immigration Office, Pokhara too. Non tourist visa extension can be done only at Department of Immigration (if eligible) for a period of maximum one year (except business visa).

Nationals of following countries are requested to acquire Visa prior their arrival from their nearby Diplomatic missions (Embassies/consulates) of Nepal Government.  

  1. Nigeria
  2. Ghana
  3. Zimbabwe
  4. Swaziland
  5. Cameroon
  6. Somalia
  7. Liberia
  8. Ethiopia
  9. Iraq
  10. Palestine
  11. Afghanistan
  12. Syria
  13. Refugees with travel document